Best free zone for a holding company or foundation
Holding structures care about the legal system, how courts treat disputes and whether the entity needs a real office. The common-law centres DIFC and ADGM are the usual choices; DMCC added foundations in 2026.
Short answer
DIFC and ADGM both use an English common-law framework and support SPVs and foundations. ADGM says operating entities need a physical presence but SPVs are an exception. DMCC issued Foundations Regulations in September 2026.
What to compare
- Legal framework
- Common-law courts matter for cross-border investors.
- Presence rules
- Some structures need an office; SPVs often do not.
- Corporate tax
- Holding income can be qualifying or not; read the QFZP guides.
The shortlist
Not in a paid order. Each reason comes from the zone's profile on this site, which lists its sources and the date we checked them.
-
DIFC
DubaiEnglish common-law framework with family offices, foundations and SPVs; fees published in USD by its Registrar.
- Published entry price
- Not published
- Set up remotely
- Not stated
- Facilities
- Office, Co-working (Innovation Hub)
Banking notes
Nothing published We have found no bank partnership announced by this zone and no reliable reports yet. Banks assess the company, its owners and its activity, so ask the zone which banks its companies use.
Last verified 23 October 2026 · Full profile and sources
-
ADGM
Abu DhabiEnglish common-law framework with SPVs and foundations; SPVs are exempt from the physical presence rule.
- Published entry price
- Not published
- Set up remotely
- Not stated
- Facilities
- Office, Co-working
Banking notes
Nothing published We have found no bank partnership announced by this zone and no reliable reports yet. Banks assess the company, its owners and its activity, so ask the zone which banks its companies use.
Last verified 23 October 2026 · Full profile and sources
-
DMCC
DubaiIssued Foundations Regulations for private wealth and holding structures in September 2026.
- Published entry price
- AED 35,484
- Set up remotely
- Not stated
- Facilities
- Flexi-desk, Co-working, Office
Banking notes
Nothing published We have found no bank partnership announced by this zone and no reliable reports yet. Banks assess the company, its owners and its activity, so ask the zone which banks its companies use.
Last verified 23 October 2026 · Full profile and sources
Before you pay a setup agent
- Ask for the full year-one quote in writing: licence, desk, establishment card, each visa, medicals and Emirates ID.
- Ask which exact activity name goes on your licence and check it covers what you will invoice for.
- Ask whether the agent is paid by the zone, and whether a bank account is included or only an introduction.
- Check the zone's own price page before you sign. We link to it on every zone profile.
Read next
- DMCC sets up Foundations Regulations: what a DMCC foundation is
DMCC has adopted Foundations Regulations, letting families and founders hold assets in a DMCC foundation. Who it suits, what is known and how it compares.
- Does a small free zone company need an audit for 0% tax?
Under Ministerial Decision 84 of 2025, every Qualifying Free Zone Person needs audited accounts at any size. What QFZP means and what happens if you fail.
General information only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Prices and rules change; confirm with the free zone authority before you pay. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.